Press "Enter" to skip to content

Stern Singles Presents: Molly Gilson8 min read

Meet Molly! Molly is an avid hiker, dog lover, and aspiring whiskey connoisseur.  She’s 29-years-old, loves being outside, black labs, Belgian beer …and alliteration. Tech manager by day, MBA student by night, Molly is always down for an adventure, whether it’s exploring the best sandwich shops in Greenwich Village, hiking in a national park, or a trip abroad.

Sternie Testimonials:

Molly and I are in the same block, and she is one of the nicest people I’ve met at Stern! I’m so glad to have shared the past couple of semesters with her and gotten to know her. I always knew I liked Molly, but I knew we would be great friends when she humorously called me out on something. I knew she was a keeper right there and then!

Molly is the whole freakin package! She always knows the right thing to say, and whether you need to vent, commiserate or celebrate, she is there with words of wisdom. She’s got poise and integrity and a really cute dog – what more could you want in a partner?

CUTE DOG?! Say no more, I’m sold. 

People gravitate towards Molly. Only a few weeks into LiO, she had half the class following her lead (without needing to make a strong argument) – they just sensed she was someone you could trust and they were right. Her optimism makes the gloomiest of walks home from class a highlight of the day and she’s great in the good times too! I am lucky to have met her through Stern and you would be crazy to miss the opportunity to meet her yourself! 

Hi Molly! What a pleasure to have you in this month’s issue of Stern Singles!

Let’s start with the basics. What brought you to Stern?

As a woman in tech, I debated getting my MBA for a while. Last year, I was offered the opportunity to lead a totally remote team and took it as a sign that it was time to stop thinking, and start doing. I applied to Stern and made the move from Boston to the East Village in September. 

Another Bostonian! Well, I’m more of a wannabe, but still. What have some highs and lows of the program been so far?

So many highs! I’ve loved getting to know my cohort (shout out to Orange block aka the best block). As someone who moved for school, it’s been so helpful getting recommendations from Sternies on everything from what classes to take to where to find the best fish tacos in New York (La Esquina!). 

I think the only low is how difficult it is to manage my time. I’m someone who loves being busy, but working full-time while going to school definitely tests my time management skills. I feel like I always see events I want to go to but can’t fit into my schedule. (For HP fans: I’m in desperate need of a time turner). 

As a fellow orange, I couldn’t agree more that it is the best block. Do you have your eyes on any cute guys at school?

Not yet, but I just got lasik so I’m ready! 

(Laughs) That is the best possible response you could have given me! What are you looking for in a guy?

Must love dogs! I’m a package deal with my adorable dog, Ginny. 

I’m also looking for someone who sees the glass as (at least) half-full. These past few years have really shown that there are going to be tough times and I’d like to be with someone who makes that easier rather than harder. 

Finally, I really love hiking. When I lived in Boston, I hiked all 48 4,000-footer mountains in the White Mountains. I’ve been to Yosemite, the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Acadia, Zion, and this summer I’m going to Norway to hike Trolltunga. So you don’t need to love hiking, but it would be great to have a hiking buddy to share a trail treat with. 

You really are the full package. What are some deal breakers for you?

Someone who is rude to waitstaff and/or doesn’t like dogs.

Those are the traits of a truly evil person. What are your favorite things to do outside of school?

Walking my dog, reading, and enjoying a glass of dry rose. I’m in a book club with friends, and also love intramural sports. I just finished a cornhole league and played soccer in the fall. 

I feel like I really need to meet Ginny! Extra props if you drink the rose and walk the dog at the same time. So I know you work in tech. Tell us more about your job?

I lead a team of technical support specialists for HubSpot, which is a software company based in Boston. I love my job, I get to coach awesome people, while working at a really supportive and innovative company. 

What’s a random or surprising fact about you?

I love April Fools day. Last year, I created a fake dog DNA result kit and convinced my sister that her dog was part coyote. 

(Laughs) I think it goes without saying that The Oppy loves AFD too. That has to be the best prank I’ve heard in a while. Ok serious question… How do you want to make the world a better place?

I am passionate about volunteering my time, whenever possible. I mentored every Saturday with Minds Matter Boston for 3 years and still talk with my mentee, Allen, every month.

What are your career goals?

As well as growing as a leader and a coach, I hope to be on a team helping to diversify the c-suite in tech.

What do you do for fun?

I love exploring; whether it’s a new hiking trail or a dive bar in Brooklyn. Recently, I went to the Particular Matters exhibit at The Shed with a friend, followed by sangria and churros at the Spanish market next door.

What’s your drink of choice?

Day time: Iced coffee. A dirty chai latte if I’m feeling bougie.
Nighttime: Cabernet Sauvignon or an old fashioned.

Throw in an extra dirty martini and those would be my choices too! What did you do for Spring Break?

Mainly an econ midterm, but I did go skiing in Vermont with my college friends. I’m new to skiing but had a great time falling down the mountain. 

Gentleman, this lady has an incredible sense of humor! Any podcast recommendations for us?

My black lab Ginny and I both recommend “This American Life” and “My Dad Wrote a Porno” as great listening material while walking the streets of NYC.

Ok rapid fire questions time! Are you ready? Let’s go! You have to give us the first answer that comes to mind.

What are you most grateful for? 

My family. I’m really close to them and fully obsessed with my nephew. 

To you, what is the best age to be? 

20: studying abroad in Prague 

If you could be the character in a tv show, what character would you want to be? 

I’d like to say Roy Kent, but I’m more like Ted Lasso mixed with Higgins. 

LOL…Higgins. What was the last word you had to look up to see what it meant? 

“Perpetuity”, clearly I’m taking Core econ. 

If you had to give someone a book you’ve read, which would it be? 

YES! I love recommending books. Okay, recent great reads: “Empire of Pain” by Patrick Radden Keefe, “The House in the Cerulean Sea” by T.J. Klune and “Disappearing Earth” by Julia Phillips 

What is your favorite store?

If we’re being honest, the Trader Joe’s wine store. 

Sidebar: we need to become best friends. Name a song that makes you happy. 

“Dancing on My Own” by Robyn

Who’s the person you talk to when you need a listening ear? 

My sister, Laura. I talk with her every day…that’s why her hair is so big, it’s full of secrets. 

What is your Zodiac sign? Do you believe in it? 

Taurus and no, which someone told me recently was “such a Taurus thing to say.”

What career did you dream of having as a kid?

Marine biologist, I love dolphins!

Molly, you have been an absolute delight! Let’s hang at the next Beer Blast. If you would like to get to know Molly better, catch her at:

Instagram: @goodgollymiss_19


Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.